new 3008 suv problem !!!

All Peugeot 3008 related discussions
topper

Post by topper »

So got my 3008 SUV 1.2 allure a month ago.
recently noticed a knocking noise from the rear when going over bumps and not severe bumps.
sounded like loose exhaust or some bracket adrift.
spent all weekend looking for the culprit as i am a mechanical engineer.
nothing found !
Finally got car into dealer today to be told after a test drive by the mechanic that a bulletin from Peugeot 48 hrs ago identified a problem with the rear coil springs and seats that resulted in a noise from suspension on near smooth or uneven surfaces.
they need to order the parts as none in the UK and may take 2 weeks to get and fix.
All this and they never looked under the vehicle !
they told my wife who took it in that it is perfectly safe to drive though which i find baffling as they never looked !
I called them to ask if this replacement will cure the fault and all they said was this is the procedure they have to follow from the bulletin.
Anyone else had this fault as the dealer has told me mine is the first in the UK this is why they have no parts ?
Personally i think it sounds like BS !

Thomo

Post by Thomo »

Hi, I have a similar problem with knocking noise in that area, only when you go into a bump and more noticeable with four people in.
Have been to the dealer and they adjusted some of the plastic underneath and exhaust had been hitting that area under passenger, still the same.
It will be interesting to find out if the coil fixes it.
John2

Post by John2 »

Peugeot's attitude seems to be that they will not order parts until the vehicle has been inspected by the dealer, even if they know what work is needed, and they do not hold stocks of parts even for known faults. I had to go to the dealer twice (two round trips of 60 miles each) before they would do the work needed for the recent recall.